Event Calendar
Prev MonthPrev Month Next MonthNext Month
Assessing Dog Behaviour in Shelter Settings
Wednesday, December 02, 2020, 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM EST
Category: Webinar

Date/Time by Timezone

Wed, Dec 2nd, 2020 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM ET
Wed, Dec 2nd, 2020 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM CT
Wed, Dec 2nd, 2020 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM MT
Wed, Dec 2nd, 2020 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM PT

Assessment processes for dogs in shelters have changed dramatically in recent years, with research findings driving a fundamental shift away from short, provocative battery-style behaviour tests to holistic, information-gathering assessment processes. This data-driven shift away from ‘poke-and-prod’ type tests has created some fantastic opportunities for animal management and sheltering professionals to improve not just their behaviour assessments, but also the level of care provided to animals, staff safety, and appropriate outcomes for the dogs themselves.

Come join Trish and Di to find out more about the research underpinning this seismic shift in procedure, and how you can move towards a more modern and holistic model for assessing dog behaviour in shelters.

You will learn:

  • Summary of recent research findings relevant to animal behaviour assessments in applied environments
  • Basic principles in canine behaviour and personality assessment
  • How to implement a ‘data-gathering’ continuous assessment process in your facility, using fast-track and slow-track processes. We will include some tips and tricks that we’ve learned along the way, and help you improve flow and outcome.

 Register now

This is part of a two-part series: